Farktography.net

It's not photography, it's Farktography.net

Upcoming events

Today's events

Upcoming events


Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topicPrintable versionPrivate messagesView next topic
Author Message
Schnappi
Post subject: How do I... Lightning?  PostPosted: 08.10.2008 15:08



Joined: 08.10.2008 Posts: 7
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Every time a storm rolls through (rare in Vegas) I wish I could get some lightning shots.
Unfortunately, I never actually get a shot with lightning in it.

So far I've tried lowering my quality (hurts so bad) so that I can take continuous shots for like 1000 frames in the hopes of a bolt going off in frame.

I've also tried long shutters... but if I get very long at all I end up with garbage anyway due to the stuff in my frame moving (and cloud movement).

So for those of you who get good lightning shots.... how?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Killerclaw
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.10.2008 19:57



Joined: 14.11.2007 Posts: 294

I sit there with a remote and tripod and snap off 15 second exposures.


_________________
Check out my latest scheme
http://www.farktography.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1445
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
linguine
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.10.2008 20:49
Moderator


Joined: 13.07.2006 Posts: 1124

I've never done it, but everything Ive seen says take lots of long exposures.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
orionid
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.10.2008 01:33
Moderator


Joined: 04.09.2008 Posts: 3175

About 15 years ago, Nuts & Volts magazine had an article showing the schematics and operation of an automatic shutter relase that responded to sharp changes in light levels and produced spectacular results with 1600 ISO film (if memory serves). Some Google-fu may unearth something similar..... the trick would be making it work with a DSLR.

Possibly with the nikon cordless remote, you could replace the button with a transistor and photocell... It'd be quick, dirty and ugly.... but inexpensive and possibly fun.

_________________
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.

~Leonardo Da Vinci
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Killerclaw
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.10.2008 01:51



Joined: 14.11.2007 Posts: 294

there is a lightning sensor that goes on the flash mount being advertised in Outdoor Photography magazine. I'm looking for my copy, I'll post a link when I find it.

_________________
Check out my latest scheme
http://www.farktography.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1445
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Killerclaw
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.10.2008 01:56



Joined: 14.11.2007 Posts: 294

http://www.lightningtrigger.com/

_________________
Check out my latest scheme
http://www.farktography.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1445
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nugz4lunch
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.01.2009 16:49



Joined: 07.01.2009 Posts: 1

[quote="Killerclaw"]I sit there with a remote and tripod and snap off 15 second exposures.

Me too.

 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jpatten
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.01.2009 16:58



Joined: 27.12.2007 Posts: 469
Location: Georgia USA
same here .. stop down so I dont blow out the clouds, and click off 15-20sec frames one after another till I get lucky.

_________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jraypatten
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
oi_piss_me_off
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2010 00:18



Joined: 12.05.2010 Posts: 14

I had a similar question. Do you have to have a remote release?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
swampa
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2010 08:26
Moderator


Joined: 28.07.2006 Posts: 689

No, you can use the timer function to trigger the camera if you want (or in the worst case you can use the shutter button but you will probably shake the camera in doing so unless it is fixed somewhere really solid). A remote release just makes it easier.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
orionid
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2010 08:47
Moderator


Joined: 04.09.2008 Posts: 3175

What he said.

_________________
For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.

~Leonardo Da Vinci
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
caradoc
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2010 08:55



Joined: 15.12.2006 Posts: 871

During the day, I use a trigger based on an Arduino microcontroller that measures ambient infrared, and pops the shutter when there's a spike in IR:



(clickr for Flickr, more links to the trigger "how-to" from there)

At night, I set for ambient (good exposure of city skyline, whatever) and bang out long exposures until lightning strikes in the frame. A solid tripod and a cable release are required for ths (I simply set the lock on the cable release to force the camera to repeatedly click off exposures until I unlock it.)


_________________
http://photographybanned.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
oi_piss_me_off
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.07.2010 01:17



Joined: 12.05.2010 Posts: 14

Great! Thanks so much everyone. And caradoc, your photos are amazing!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
olavf
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.07.2010 01:29
Moderator


Joined: 15.07.2008 Posts: 1626

Yeah, he's pretty much why I pointed you over here.

_________________
And if a day goes by without my doing something related to photography, it?s as though I?ve neglected something essential to my existence, as though I had forgotten to wake up. - Richard Avedon
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
caradoc
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.07.2010 10:07



Joined: 15.12.2006 Posts: 871

Thanks! Anyone in the metro Phoenix area's welcome to ping me - we can go shoot.

(I'm kind of without a car for the moment... the Forester has a couple of cracked CV boots, and I really need to get those repaired/replaced before I drive much...)

_________________
http://photographybanned.com
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topicPrintable versionPrivate messagesView next topic